12th IAPR International Workshop on Document Analysis Systems


 Download in PDF

DAS 2016 is the 12th edition of the 100% participation single-track IAPR sponsored workshop focusing on system-level issues and approaches in document analysis and recognition. The workshop comprises invited speaker presentations, oral, poster, tutorial and demo sessions as well as working group discussions.

DAS 2016 will be organized on the island of Santorini, Greece. Santorini was created from a volcanic eruption that left it with volcanic cliffs overlooking a black and red coast, dazzling against the turquoise Mediterranean. Santorini is one of the most popular, beautiful and unique islands in the world since it combines a cosmopolitan atmosphere, spectacular scenery of deep blue sea and whitewashed houses, breathtaking sunsets, ancient sites, world-class restaurants and an active volcano.

Submission Types

DAS2016 will include both long and short papers, posters and demonstrations of working or prototype systems. All submissions will undergo a rigorous review process with a minimum of 3 reviews considering the originality of work, the quality of research or analysis of experience, the relevance to document analysis systems, and quality of presentation of ideas.

Full Papers

Full papers should describe complete works of original research. Authors are invited to submit original, unpublished research papers that are not being considered in another forum, up to 6 pages length.

Short Papers

Short papers provide an opportunity to report on research in progress, to present novel positions on document analysis systems. Authors may submit short papers (up to 2 pages in

length). Short papers will also undergo review and will appear in an extra booklet, not in the official DAS2016 proceedings.


DAS2016 seeks public demonstrations of novel systems, to be presented to the workshop as a whole during breaks between paper sessions. Prospective demonstrators should submit a two-page summary of the system to be demonstrated. Demonstration proposals will undergo review and summaries of accepted demonstrations will appear in the extra DAS2016 booklet, as in the case of short papers.

Important Dates

Tutorials proposals

Proposals due Oct 31, 2015

Regular Papers

Abstracts due Oct 09, 2015

Papers due Oct 16, 2015

Decision notification Dec 07, 2015

Camera ready due Jan 08, 2016

Early registration Jan 08, 2016

Short Papers

Papers due Jan 08, 2016

Decision notification Feb 08, 2016

Camera ready due Feb 22, 2016

Topics & Technologies

  • Algorithms for graphics recognition
  • Applications
  • Authoring, annotation, and presentation systems
  • Camera-based document image analysis
  • Document analysis for digital humanities
  • Document analysis for mobile devices
  • Document analysis for the internet
  • Document analysis systems for libraries and archives
  • Document databases and digital libraries
  • Document image analysis (DIA) systems
  • Document image watermarking
  • Document retrieval systems
  • Document understanding
  • Forensic document analysis
  • Historical document analysis
  • Information extraction from document images
  • Multilingual document analysis
  • Multimedia document analysis
  • Page layout analysis
  • Pen-based user interface
  • Performance evaluation


General Chairs

Apostolos Antonacopoulos, UK

Basilis Gatos, Greece

Program Chairs

Michael Blumenstein, Australia

Josep LLadós, Spain

Dan Lopresti, USA

Tutorial Chairs

Dimosthenis Karatzas, Spain

Cheng-Lin Liu, China

Publicity Chairs

Gernot Fink, Germnay

Marco Büchler, Germany

Clemens Neudecker, Germany

Publications Chair

Stefan Pletschacher, UK

Organising Committee

Christian Clausner, UK

George Louloudis, Greece

Christos Papadopoulos, UK

Nikolaos Stamatopoulos, Greece

Program Committee

Adel Alimi, Tunisia

Elisa Barney Smith, USA

Bill Barrett, USA

Abdel Belaid, France

Mohamed Cheriet, Canada

Andreas Dengel, Germany

Xiaoqing Ding, China

Veronique Eglin, France

Jihad El-Sana, Israel

Andreas Fischer, Switzerland

Alicia Fornés, Spain

Volkmar Frinken, Japan

Venu Govindaraju, USA

Tin Kam Ho, USA

Nicholas Howe, USA

Rolf Ingold, Switzerland

Masakazu Iwamura, Japan

Koichi Kise, Japan

Bart Lamiroy, France

Laurence Likforman-Sulem, France

Rafael Lins, Brazil

Marcus Liwicki, Germany

Laura Mandell, USA

R. Manmatha, USA

Simone Marinai, Italy

Günter Mühlberger, Austria

Masaki Nakagawa, Japan

Prem Natarajan, USA

Jean-Marc Ogier, France

Umapada Pal, India

Thierry Paquet, France

Vincent Poulain d'Andecy, France

Jean-Yves Ramel, France

Marçal Rusiñol, Spain

Marc-Peter Schambach, Germany

Klaus Schulz, Germany

Srirangaraj Setlur, USA

Faisal Shafait, Pakistan

Palaiahnakote Shivakumara, Malaysia

Chew Lim Tan, Singapore

George Thoma, USA

Karl Tombre, France

Seiichi Uchida, Japan

Enrique Vidal, Spain

Berrin Yanikoglu, Turkey

Richard Zanibbi, USA



For general enquires
please contact us at